How to Handle Back To School Bullying : Advice from a Teenager

Posted: September 16, 2012 in Advice for Parents, Become a Bully Buster, Guest Bloggers, Personal Bullying Stories

I have been excited to share our guest blogger Haley, and her most recent contribution is a very relevant topic as school is starting across the country soon. Remember, if you or someone you wants to share your advice, please email me at bullybusterusa@gmail.com. And with no further adieu, here is Haley’s advice for the approaching school year!

Be an Upstander

Hey there guys… How has your summer been? I know for some people it’s basically over, so I decided I would start off today with some words about back to school bullying.

So we all know that first days back at school are this weird paradoxical thing where students are depressed summer is over, but also almost want to go back to school in order to see all of their friends. I don’t know about boys, but I know most girls usually spend hours deciding what to wear, how to do their makeup, etc, in order to make the best first impression possible. And for some horribly unfortunate people, going back to school also means facing renewed bullying from peers that they haven’t seen all summer. And let me tell you, 3 months away can change a person, and not always for the better. Be careful when you go back to school, because when you haven’t seen some one all summer, they may have changed. I mean one of my best friends in 8th grade totally changed between 8th and 9th grade. She came back super stuck up and just generally obnoxious. Turns out, she had gotten close to one of the “popular” girls and had kinda just left me behind. Now I understand that in the grand scheme of things, that probably doesn’t matter that much, I mean if she didn’t want to hang with me, that’s her loss, but still, it kinda hurt. And for the kids who go back to school and have to face renewed bullying, there are a few ways you can try to combat it (get it, combat..anyone? ok guess not)…firstly, when you go back to school, don’t automatically fall back into the bully trap. Try to stand up to them, or just avoid them, if possible. If nothing helps, try filing an anonymous bullying report, most schools have them, and they allow you to report bullying without being labeled as the “tattletale”. If nothing else works, talk to your parents right away, because since it’s the beginning of the year, you can probably figure out transfer options. Anyways, have fun going back to school my dear readers, I’m sure you will have tons of fun with the new homework… as for me, I don’t go back to school until September 5, so I’ll spend my days chilling on the beach.

“When people hurt you over and over, think of them like sand paper. They may scratch and hurt you a bit, but in the end, you end up polished and they end up useless.”
– Chris Colfer

Leave a Reply

